Good for the Soul

With my thesis officially handed in, I am truly embracing the blissful prospect of oodles of free time to spend on my beloved crafting. If the past couple of days are any indication, these next few months will indeed be productive. First of all, I finished my cowl neck scarf- and I love it.

048

It turned out wider than I had anticipated so I added a drawstring to make it a little more fitted. The good old Boston weather was actually nice enough this past weekend for me to try it out (instead of my usual blanket-sized entrelac scarves) and it’s a great piece for this transition time into Spring, maybe even for cooler summer evenings. On the other hand, I’m wondering what it would be like if it weren’t quite so wide and didn’t need a drawstring… and my next project will satisfy my curiosity. Believe it or not, I finished this scarf so much sooner than expected, I actually didn’t have another project immediately lined up. This meant an odd hour of in-between time during which- gasp- I had no knitting project. Fortunately, desperation can inspire creativity- not to mention resourcefulness. I love nothing more than a trip to the yarn store, but in the spirit of frugality and since I was feeling a bit of a time crunch, I decided to dip into my ever-abundant stash…

0112

This barely begins to capture the degree to which my life is overflowing with yarn- but you get the idea. Naturally, I decided to go for some color, and dug out three different Classic Elite yarns (fortunately for me, my yarn stash is still rather luxurious):

047

The pink is Lavish (100% cashmere), the orange is Carmed (cashmere and mohair) and the blue is Princess (Merino, Viscose, Cashmere, Angora). Not exactly slumming it. And I like the unexpected color combination- very Springy indeed. It took me a little while to decide on the pattern. I toyed around with some different options but felt myself inevitably drawn back to an old reliable: entrelac. I mean, it’s the patchwork of the knitting world, I just can’t get enough. And this pattern s a little smaller than the type used for my giant entrelac scarves (which, incidentally, have landed me for the second time on this awesome fashion blog http://beyondbostonchic.blogspot.com– check it out)! Anyway, little entrelacing is fun and has a different look:

0462

This will be my companion project for Puerto Rico. Yes, it’s that time again- tomorrow I’m off to lounge on the beach, to swim in the water and drink Pina Colados before noon. It is Senior Spring after all. And since quilting isn’t exactly transportable, I finished this week’s mini-quilt early, and couldn’t help but be inspired by my upcoming trip. I think the reference is pretty obvious:

023024

I love the contrast between the patchwork bottom and solid blue top- it’s a little hard to see but I did some curly cue quilting stitches on the blue (with yellow thread) to add texture and interest. I don’t usually get too fancy with my quilting stitches but was surprised to really enjoy it on this scale- and to find myself deeply compelled to try it out on a larger quilt. Fortunately, this is a pretty painless quilting technique thanks to the larger, less rigid patchwork. Therefore, it only took me a few hours to whip this up: 

050

I know, I know- I said I was going to focus on my Polka Dot Log Cabin quilt exclusively, but I couldn’t help this little detour (and the Log Cabin quilt is still coming along, I’m churning out polka dot squares at a respectable rate). I was delighted to discover how much red and blue fabric I have in my stash. I think these patterns both clash and blend in a lovely way. Obviously, it’s not finished since I have to find flannel for the back (functional quilts should have soft backs in my opinion) and then work on the fancier quilting stitches. Let’s just say, I’m really fond of this new, relatively ‘quick’ technique. That’s what’s so wonderful about patchworking- it can be tedious and time-consuming or free-wheeling and carefree. Both are good for the soul. Fortunately, sunshine is also good for the soul so though I may have a few days sans-quilting, the island lifestyle (and, of course, my knitting) will certainly make up for it.

Leave a comment

Filed under clothing, knitting, quilting

Leave a Reply

