It Doesn’t Get Much Better

On Saturday night, I was in my pajamas by 5 o’clock and sleeping by 10. On Sunday, I was out until midnight, started and ended my evening with cocktails, and in between consumed a glass of champagne and three bottles of this (amongst four people, that is):

 

Hmmm, not entirely sure how that happened. You see, it was double date night with my lovely older sister, Char:

 

I’m very excited in this picture because she bought me gummy fish oils; so much more fun than swollowing those big fishy-smelling pills! (This is the beginning of the evening, so I really am just excited.)

We started with snazzy cocktails at Davios, then went to The Melting Pot and had quite the night of romantic fondue fun:

 

Then decided that the evening wouldn’t be complete without a heavenly pomegranate martini from Morton’s steakhouse. Not my usual Sunday night behavior, but I crawled into bed thinking life doesn’t get much better than this.

Monday was therefore… interesting 😉 God bless Dunkin Donuts iced coffees and espresso ‘turbo’ shots.

You can imagine how amazing it felt to drive home to my apartment and heat up some delicious leftovers for dinner:

 

This is a chicken and prune dish that I improvised on Saturday night in my wonderful Creuset French oven. Basically, it consisted of: chicken breasts, prunes, sweet potatoes, cauliflower, cumin, and fresh ginger, marinated in red wine vinegar for a few hours, and then cooked in the oven for about an hour in chicken broth.

Thanks to their very particular effect on the digestive system, prunes get a bit of a bad rep, but I’m a big fan of the sweet-and-savory combination so, as far as I’m concerned, this dish was heaven. Char happens to be a prune fiend so I also owe her credit for inspiring this medley.

I managed to squeeze in a couple of hours of work on my latest project, which I’ve decided to call my Onion Quilt. If this makes no sense to you, read my previous post. I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me sooner.

I’m just going to town with the applique/reverse applique/hand stitching.

But even hand stitching takes a certain degree of mental clarity… so I may or may not have crawled into bed at about 7:30 with my knitting:

 

Not quite sure how long this lasted before I was drifting off to sleep, thinking life doesn’t get much better than this.

1 Comment

Filed under cooking, knitting, quilting, sewing

One response to “It Doesn’t Get Much Better

  1. Yes—hand stitching! I am so in love with it all over again. I use embroidery hoops the same way as you do, as I see in your posted photos.

    That old quilt of mine is so fun to work on. Very nostalgic, seeing as I’m rebuilding something I did 20 years ago.

    Love your knitting—great color work!

Leave a Reply

