Me Time

Even though Boston had been bracing itself for the worst, we got effectively no snow in the end. Schools were let out early or canceled altogether—my boss even insisted that I leave around 1 pm when the flurries started coming down, but by the time I was home, the flurries had stopped and not much more came along.

It’s kind of odd to have all that anticipation and, in the end, no heaping piles of snow to show for it. I have mixed feelings since:

  1. I love the snow! It’s beautiful and a good excuse to stay huddled indoors (read: sew), but
  2. Snow makes for treacherous driving and I have a Prius (an older model that hasn’t been recalled but I still don’t trust it in bad weather) and I’ve been enjoying my outdoor runs these days.

Anyway, this storm-that-wasn’t did mean that I found myself home early. Kyle had a business dinner to attend to, so I cozied up with my Onion Quilt (running stitch is flowing from fingers uncontrollably) and had the time to make myself a leisurely dinner.

Now, I love my boyfriend, but I also love those evenings all to myself where I can indulge in my SSB: secret single behavior (I hope at least some of you get the Sex and the City reference—incidentally, watching Sex and the City is one of my secret single behaviors, but it’s the least strange of them all …)

I also love making dinner for one. You get to eat exactly what you want and sometimes enjoy the leftovers for days to come. On the other hand, I don’t always want leftovers, especially if I know I’ll be out for a few days. I experience enormous guilt when food goes bad. So last night I came up with a wonderful solo dining solution that was delicious, fun, easy to make, and leftovers-free.

Pizza for One

  • 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • ½ T baking powder
  • Pinch of salt*
  • Pinch of oregano
  • ¼ cup room temperature water
  • Dollop of EVOO

Combine the whole wheat flour, baking powder, salt, and oregano in a medium bowl. Form a well in the middle of the flour mixture and add the water and EVOO. Fold in the flour until you have a kneadable dough (you may need slightly more water; add just a bit at a time).

Knead the dough for about 4-6 minutes (yes, this is slightly tricky since it’s such a small amount, but you can still press it with the heel of your hand, rotate, etc.). Allow the dough to rest in an airtight plastic bag for about an hour.

Meanwhile, prepare your ingredients. For this pizza, I steamed a few broccoli florets and roasted some butternut squash.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.

Grease a pizza stone (I use the bottom of my La Cloche) or baking sheet. Press the dough into an approximately 8″ circle (or larger if you prefer a thinner crust). Cover with your toppings. I topped mine with tomato sauce, the broccoli and butternut squash, chopped dates, feta cheese, and sharp cheddar.

Bake for about 15-20 minutes, or until the crust starts to brown slightly and the cheese has melted.

*It used to drive me crazy when recipes had vague terms like “pinch” and “dollop” in them—but honestly, that’s how real cooking happens. You’ll get the feel for these amounts soon enough, and then you’ll really be enjoying the process.

So I was a happy lady last night with homemade pizza and hand sewing to keep me company. On the other hand, I’m also looking forward to another dinner at EVOO tonight. Maybe this time I’ll remember to snag a snapshot of my glorious, favorite chocolate cake in the world before I polish it off.

The one thing about lots of hand sewing is my fingers get a bit tender after a couple of hours, which is when I switch over to a more finger-friendly activity: knitting. Check out these scrappy socks that I’m working on with all my little bits of Cascade:

 

I have no pattern or plan for these babies; it’s just one stripe at a time. Improvisation seems to be my working method of choice these days. It’s making these socks such fun to work on, and it keeps me on my toes, so to speak!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bread, clothing, cooking, knitting, quilting

Leave a Reply

