The Unexpected

Well some mysterious blip in the blogosphere occurred, and though I thought I created this post yesterday, it never appeared. So here’s round 2—sorry for the delay!

Sometimes it’s good to do something a little out of character. For instance, wake up early on a Sunday (having already lost an hour, nonetheless) to run a 5K in the pouring rain and wind. You see, I’m normally a run-for-fun kind of girl, but was recently—and somewhat reluctantly—persuaded to run this race. Not long before the actual event, however, my running companions discovered they were no longer able to attend for various reasons. Since I’d already paid the $30 race entry fee (that’s a wine pairing for two people at EVOO!) and since I really wanted to wear the race T-shirt without shame:

 

I decided to suck it up and go it alone. The night before, I did do plenty of carbo-loading since I went to dinner at Figs with my sister Charlotte, where I consumed more than my fair share of glorious pizza (in addition to butternut squash angolotti, not pictured):

 

As far as I can tell, carbo-loading is one of the biggest perks of racing—it’s probably not all that necessary for running 3.1 miles but it’s a good excuse. The pitcher of sangria and 10 pm movie that I attended after dinner? A bit harder to justify.

Nonetheless, I woke up determined. Here I am pre-race: already wet, chilly, and trying to not talk myself out of this:

 

And afterwards, elated to be done:

 

Confession: I had a lot of fun. Like I said, I’m not really a competitive person (I didn’t even stick around to find out my time) and I’m not into the huge group mentality. That being said, braving the elements and feeling the excitement of the crowd (It was a St. Patty’s day race so there was lots of Irish merriment and bagpipe music) was exhilarating. I don’t think I’ll make racing a regular habit, but perhaps a very occasional one. Mostly, it’s nice to surprise yourself every now and then.

While most participants went pub-crawling afterwards, Kyle and I went home, took off our soaking wet clothes,

 

Showered, warmed up, and drove out to my house in Lexington for a more characteristic afternoon. (Kyle, by the way, earns major brownie points for walking me to the starting line and waiting for me while I ran. The only thing tougher than running in a downpour is standing in it.)

My mother recently bought me all the necessary supplies for my most recent crafting love: French memo boards. Though these boards are made out of fabric, they require many tools that aren’t a normal part of the quilter’s studio: a manual staple gun, hammer, thumbtacks, etc. I now have all the necessary supplies—thank you Mom!

In exchange, I gladly offered her my services and spent the afternoon making two French memo boards for her studio. The first one was 3′ x 4′, much larger then the first one I made and quite the full-body operation:

 

The second one was a bit smaller (26′ x 26′) and only took an hour and a half or so to complete:

 

Though I tend to go for bold colors and wild patterns, I love the fabrics that she chose. Very appropriate for a landscape designer’s studio. Since I spent the entire afternoon creating (which always feels oh-so-good) I literally dreamt of French memo boards. Clearly, these are quickly becoming a highlight of my crafting arsenal.

On another note, in honor of St. Patty’s day and the delights of the unexpected, I thought I’d share one of my recent, random food experimentations. A couple of weeks ago, I had a delicious wrap from Neillio’s which consisted of tuna fish and guacamole. Since then, I’ve been making this wrap for myself. The other day, I was preparing the guacamole as usual when I suddenly decided to mix the tuna fish right in with the avocado. The result? Absolutely delicious. It might look a little funky, but this is a yummy and versatile dish. Of course, it makes a great wrap (I like it with lots of sharp cheddar cheese), but is also a lovely filling for a baked sweet potato, a fun pizza topping, or an appropriately green dip for a St. Patty’s day party.

 Tuna Guacamole

  • 2 ripe avocadoes
  • 1 spoonful jarred salsa
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 1 5 oz. can of tuna in oil, drained

Mash the avocadoes with a potato masher or fork until smooth. Mix in the salsa, salt, lemon and tuna. Yep, that’s all there is to it.

1 Comment

Filed under cooking

One response to “The Unexpected

  1. Good for you running the race, in the rain… I admire people who can get out and surprise themselves like that!
    Love the boards you did, so classic and useful!

Leave a Reply

