I’m Restless

This glorious spring weather really lifts the spirits. There’s nothing like the first day you can wear a skirt without tights, or leave the house without 6 cold-weather accessories (scarves, hats, mittens, etc.). But uplifting as it may be, this spring weather also has me climbing the walls

I really miss this feeling:

 

Sometimes I wish life consisted of nothing more than watching sunrises on a beach in Mexico. I’m not exactly in that serine state right now: my mind is going a mile a minute and I’m having a hard time dedicating myself to larger projects.

Here they are: my two big quilts just begging to be hand stitched.

And for some reason, I’m not feeling it. Yes, I said that. For the past couple of weeks, I just haven’t been in the mood to sew. Gasp. I’m a bit ashamed.

I mean, it would be an exaggeration to say that I haven’t sewn at all. I did decide to recreate the fabulous Marc Jacobs scarf that I bought in Vegas using one of Jay McCaroll’s Germania jersey knits:

 

MJ’s on the left, and Jay is on the right. (Pardon my awkward attempts to photograph myself in the mirror.)

I love sewing scarves. It’s so quick and easy, and this material is much more appropriate for warm weather wear. Plus, this project took less than an hour to stitch up on my machine. Otherwise, my needles, threads, and fabrics have been a tad neglected…

Perhaps part of my problem is an over-consumption of sugar. I’m a New Englander, and this means I frequently eat ice cream during blizzards, but this is the time of year when my addiction really kicks in. I basically can’t go more than 24 hours without a few scoops.

 

Ah, hello my old friend.

Fortunately, I’ve fallen in love with making my own cones which saves some cash–and I make them with whole wheat flour which means they are delicious and guilt-free (somewhere along the line, I convinced myself that whole grains negates caloric content).

The ice cream is a combination of Edy’s Strawberry, Chocolate, and Mint Chocolate Chip (I like color in my ice cream as much as in my crafting). I also have an ice cream maker which I’m dying to put to good use as soon as I have two free days in a row. Homemade ice cream in homemade cones? What blis…

Otherwise, there’s only one dessert that could tear me away from the soft stuff. You guessed it. EVOO is back, which means the return of warm chocolate truffle cake. I’ve already had it twice. The first time? Like I said, I’m not a food-photographing natural so I only remembered to shoot when consumption was near complete:

 

The second time, my fellow diners weren’t hungry for dessert. So I ordered t it to go and ate it in my pajamas on the sofa (and yes, I opened the container the wrong way and had to eat it off the lid.)

 

‘Nuff said.

Sugar consumption aside, I think there’s a chance that this springtime restlessness could be a good thing. I’m just going to follow my instincts. I can be a very disciplined person, but right now I have no desire to convince myself to do anything. I might not feel like working on my large quilt projects, but they’ll always be there waiting for me (in a week, a month, or even next winter)—and there have been some smaller, bite-sized sewing projects calling my name. I’m going to answer. Maybe the spring weather just begs for a little less commitment and a little more variety. I have plans, don’t you worry. It’s time to mix things up.

That being said, I have made surprising progress on my fairly large knitting commitment. Since my knitting needles are portable and enable me to craft in the open air, I’ve been stockinetting like crazy:

I’m about ¾ of the way done with sleeve #1 and I have two four-hour bus rides on my near future since I’m spending the weekend in NYC for a college friend reunion (hooray!) It’s definitely a good time to be getting away—and when I return, I’m going to dive into some springtime sewing.

2 Comments

Filed under knitting, quilting, sewing

2 responses to “I’m Restless

  1. I hate it when I lose inspiration. That is pretty much how I have been feeling in the jewelry making department lately. I can’t seem to get my mind to focus on it at all. Sigh.

  2. Izzy

    I miss your ice cream cones, we should make them like every day this summer!

Leave a Reply

