A Lucky Lady

I arrived back in Boston last night at around 6:30 pm utterly exhausted. Kyle and I grabbed a quick dinner, and climbed in bed while the hour was still a single digit. But, for some odd reason, I couldn’t fall asleep. I tossed and turned until single digits this morning, then finally dozed off. Needless to say, I’m currently enjoying injecting a large ice coffee with two turbo shots from Dunkin Donuts. It’s just one of those mornings.

I think I couldn’t sleep because I was still buzzed from having such a completely wonderful weekend. Once again, I had (more than) 48 hours that were full of so much goodness. All that joy and contentment was still swarming around in my head last night and made it hard to hit the hay. But I can’t really complain.

This weekend, my family (parents, sisters, grandma, and Kyle) went to Princeton, NJ to visit this handsome guy (my brother) and watch his crew race on Saturday morning (he won!):

 

For those of you who haven’t had the chance to visit (which I imagine is most), Princeton is one of the most charming and beautiful little towns ever. Definitely worth the trip. Everything about it, from the small boutiques to the funky restaurants, elegant architecture, and blossoming trees, has suchcharacter and appeal. The gorgeous weather helped as well. I started out my days with long runs in the cool morning sunshine (with my Dad and sister–much more fun than solo!). We shopped (I got, among other things, a wonderful new kitchen accessory that you will certainly be seeing soon), we wandered, we talked, we laughed, and we ate absurdly delicious food. Some highlights:

 

Peanut butter chocolate lava cake from Witherspoon Grill.

 

 A short ribs appetizer and some selections from the charcuterie plate at Elements (an outstanding restaurant all around).

 

A pre-dessert dessert of homemade bacon and an eggshell stuffed with French toast and some kind of frothy eggy topping. This was pretty glorious.

The eating extravaganza ended with a Easter brunch at a funky little restaurant called Rats, followed by a walk through the sculpture park.

 

Let’s just say the Eccles family knows how to celebrate in style. As we all get older and as life continues to be busy, weekends like this become increasingly special and essential. I’m in withdrawal already.

I was out and about almost all weekend long, but I did get some crafting done in the 5-hour plus car ride there and back. I worked a bit with my Easter egg-dyed yarn, but I spent most of time sewing. Yes, I decided to mix things up a bit—I always forget that a needle and thread can be portable, too. And I’m not going to lie; I’m pretty psyched about this latest project.

I mentioned earlier that my sewing muse had flown the coop, and that I needed a more bite-sized approach to my quilt making. I prefer making larger finished pieces, but these days something about tackling full-sized quilts has felt monotonous and daunting. Fortunately, I’ve found a solution that has me re-invigorated and suits my current working style. I’m making individual 12″ blocks which can be worked one at a time, and which I will satin stitch together to form a large, finished piece.

It took me a while to figure out the pattern/shapes, etc. that I wanted to go with and I didn’t push it. I just let the pile of bright cottons that I bought at Sewfisticated sit in my sewing room for a couple of weeks until the right aesthetic came to me, and I’m glad I was patient because I’m very pleased so far:

 

These blocks are a combination of appliqué and reverse appliqué, and now that I think about it, they reveal my fondness for the artist Kandinsky. I’m still in hand stitching mode these days, so I’m going to embellish each block with embroidery floss:

 

So far, I’ve been using chain stitch, buttonhole circles, and good old back stitch. Some of my zigzaging lines aren’t perfectly straight, but hey, I was stitching in a moving vehicle, and I never do mind a bit of wonkiness.

This project has instantly clicked with me. I’m excited to work on it, and I’m  liberated by the one-block-at-a-time approach. Good times with loved ones and inspired sewing—I feel like one lucky lady.

2 Comments

Filed under quilting, sewing

2 responses to “A Lucky Lady

  1. Autumn

    Omg.food. Maybe I’ll try and visit in fall.I was trying to save money for greece.look on fb or blog for chicken paintings

  2. Love those quilt blocks, Pippa! So fun and bright. And what a lucky lady you are indeed to have such fun family get togethers….and eat such great food 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend
    ~Megan

Leave a Reply

