All Good Things

I just realized that the post I wrote on Friday never got published, so you might want to check out the previous post before this one. On that note…

Here are just a few of the reasons I had yet another joy-filled weekend:

1. I got a bike. And it’s a hybrid—like me! This means it can function as both a speedy road bike and a casual commuting bike. One side of the pedals are for clip-in shoes and longer, more hardcore rides (such as the one Kyle and I took Saturday afternoon) while the other side is ‘normal’ and allows me to bike to yoga in flip flops and to brunch in moccasins, both of which I did on Sunday. It doesn’t get much better than commuting in the sunshine and not having to get in a car all weekend long. I’m completely hooked.

 

2. I remembered how much I love Boston. I’ve lived here all my life, but I still have those moments when I discover something new or simply remember what I’ve always loved in the first place. Saturday afternoon, I went downtown and walked along Boston Common in the lovely, cool sunshine. My destination: Windsor Button, which I was visiting for the first time. I can’t believe I’d never been before! It’s a miraculous, adorable little store full of yarn, embroidery thread, and buttons that you can scoop up and buy in bulk:

 

I bought some more embroidery floss, needles, and small thread scissors. I decided that I needed a proper portable sewing kit to facilitate my current addiction to hand sewing (I even sewed on the T ride back!):

 

I also but buttons and…

3. I finished my Easter egg yarn project. I decided to make a small turtleneck scarf, which I thought might turn out really weird, but, actually, it’s adorable and comfy—not to mention perfect for cutting the slight chill of a windy bike ride:

 

4. Then, I dyed more yarn. Yes, I’m addicted.

 

5. I met a friend for brunch. Alicia was back in beantown for the weekend and we had a delicious brunch at Grafton St. Since I’m officially broke, I got the cheapest thing on the menu which happened to be outstandingly good. Creamy yogurt topped with warm, homemade granola. This is definitely going on my always-expanding list of foods to make on my own.

 

6. I finally tried Ethiopian food. A couple friends and I decided to go to Addis Red Sea for dinner, which I’ve been eager to do for the longest time. My conclusion? It’s absolutely fabulous. I mean, what’s not to love about lots mushy, flavorful food that’s eaten with mounds of spongy bread and no utensils? And what goes better with excessive amounts of carbs than a bottle of honey wine?

 

This must have put me in the mood for finger good because the next night.

7. I made tilapia tacos. Sometimes I’m really in the mood for those somewhat tedious kitchen tasks that require lots of chopping. Fortunately, this was one of those times since I decided to make avocado mango salsa:

 

I also tried my hand at homemade wheat tortillas. These actually weren’t difficult at all and, though they’re obviously more time consuming than heating up store bought tortillas, they were worth it—there’s nothing like tortillas straight off the griddle, even if they are a tad asymmetrical.

 

I bought a tub of sour cream, grilled some tilapia fish in hoisin sauce, and voila—the perfect finale to another perfect weekend.

 

I hope your weekend was full of all good things, too!

3 Comments

Filed under clothing, cooking, knitting, sewing

3 responses to “All Good Things

  1. Ohmigosh I LOVE that neck warmer, or whatver the heck you are calling it. The colors are awesome. And you DYE the yarn yourself?! How cool is that!!

  2. this isn’t at all relevant to your post:

    i’m watching an episode of “what not to wear” that features a fiber artist who lives with her bunny. she gathered and saved its sheddings for a year in order to harvest enough fiber to knit a sweater out of it.

    don’t ever let it get to that point.

  3. You were one busy gal! Everything looks great!
    Have a great weekend. We’re headed to a Trappist Monestary this weekend to buy some homemade cheese and bourbon fruitcake.
    Then off to a kite festival on Sunday.
    Fun times!

Leave a Reply

